CEIRS Researchers Recognized for their Scientific Contributions

Several researchers from across the CEIRS Network have recently been recognized for their contributions to the fields of influenza research and virology. The recognitions and awards come from around the globe, showing the true international scope of the CEIRS initiative. The CEIRS Network would like to congratulate our researchers for their outstanding accomplishments.

Drs. Stacey Schultz-Cherry and Richard Webby of SJCEIRS, and Dr. Michael Katze of NYICE have been elected Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology. Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process that recognizes scientific achievements and contributions that have advanced microbiology.

Dr. Anice Lowen of Emory-UGA CEIRS won this year’s American Society for Virology Ann Palmenberg Junior Investigator Award. The Ann Palmenberg Junior Investigator program showcases the accomplishments of young faculty members engaged in virology research.

Dr. Robert Webster of SJCEIRS (retired) received an Honorary Doctor of Science from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, UK in recognition of his many significant contributions to the understanding of the origin, ecology, and control of influenza.

Dr. Yi Guan of SJCEIRS was awarded the 2014 Outstanding Researcher Award from the University of Hong Kong (HKU); this award recognizes research excellence in HKU academics. In addition, a research team led by Dr. Guan, which includes several researchers from SJCEIRS, received HKU’s 2014 University Outstanding Research Output Prize for their Nature paper, “The genesis and source of the H7N9 influenza viruses causing human infections in China.”