CEIRS Investigators Acknowledged for their Scientific Contributions

Several Centers of Excellence for Influenza Research and Surveillance (CEIRS) researchers have been recognized for outstanding contributions to the fields of influenza research and virology, demonstrating continued excellence and engagement within the scientific community at large. The CEIRS Network congratulates all researchers for their recent achievements.

Dr. Stacey Schultz-Cherry, of St. Jude CEIRS (SJCEIRS), was recently announced as the President-Elect for the American Society for Virology (ASV). This appointment emphasizes Dr. Schultz-Cherry’s notable contributions to and engagement within the field of virology. She will serve as the ASV President-Elect through 2017 and as ASV President from 2017-2018. She follows several past Presidents whose major focus was in influenza research, such as Purnell Choppin (1985), Robert Lamb (2001), and Peter Palese (2005).

The Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award was given to Dr. Peter Palese from the Center for Research on Influenza Pathogenesis (CRIP) at the last American Society for Microbiology (ASM) annual meeting. This is the premier award given by ASM in honor of Maurice R. Hilleman, a pioneer of vaccinology. Dr. Palese’s notable contributions to molecular virology, vaccine development, and vaccine-mediated protection against influenza viruses exemplify the spirit of this award.

Two CEIRS investigators, Dr. Yoshi Kawaoka (CRIP) and Dr. Malik Peiris (SJCEIRS), were elected as Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology. They join a group of esteemed colleagues selected by peer review for their research achievements and advances to the field of microbiology.